Which countries allow Dual Citizenship with the US?

Dual Citizenship USA: What are the Rules?

Dual citizenship refers to the status of an individual who holds the nationality of two different countries at the same time.

Dual citizenship can offer many benefits, if you travel frequently between countries for example to visit relatives, since you won’t need to apply for a visa to enter either country. You also benefit from the rights to work, vote and own property in both countries.

There may of course however also be disadvantages to holding dual citizenship – such as taxation liabilities within both countries and the associated administration demands – which cause many to pursue the option of renunciation.

The rules governing citizenship vary from country to country, meaning dual citizenship can arise automatically under the current rules of the countries concerned rather than by election or choice of the individual. For example, a child born in a foreign country to U.S. national parents may be both a U.S. national and a national of the country of birth. Or, an individual having one nationality at birth may naturalize at a later date in another country and become a dual national.

Not all countries allow its citizens to hold dual citizenship – China and India, for example, where attained foreign citizenship leads to automatic loss of citizenship. Other countries operate restricted and highly selective eligibility criteria, such as Spain, which only permits dual nationality with selected Latin American countries.

Prior to 1967, dual citizenship was not permitted in the United States. Under current US law however, American citizens can hold dual nationality with another country. US citizens granted citizenship in a foreign state are under no legal obligation under US law to renounce their US citizenship.

However it is important to note also that the USA follows the ‘master nationality’ rule, which means it recognizes only the US nationality of an individual, regardless of any other citizenship the individual may hold.

Naturalizing as a US citizen: dual citizenship in the USA

Section 101(a)(22) of the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) states that “the term ‘national of the United States’ means (A) a citizen of the United States, or (B) a person who, though not a citizen of the United States, owes permanent allegiance to the United States.”

There are many ways you may be eligible to attain US citizenship. You would generally be required to hold a Green Card for five years before making your naturalization application, but eligibility is typically far from straight forward and you should take advice on your circumstances to ascertain your eligibility and the most appropriate route.

US law cannot extend to determine recognition of an individual’s citizenship by another nation. While individuals naturalizing as US citizens are required to take an oath at their citizenship ceremony which includes a pledge to “renounce[s] and abjure[s] all allegiance and fidelity”. This does not extend to citizenship. Only if the law of the other country stipulates renunciation of citizenship will the individual have to oblige.

Travelling as a dual citizen

US citizens enjoy the right to enter the US without immigration restrictions. This requires you to enter the US as a US citizen, using your US passport.

Renunciation of US citizenship

If you have naturalized in a foreign country and do not wish to maintain dual citizenship with the US or the law in your country does not permit dual citizenship, you will need to follow the legal process of renunciation to evidence you are voluntarily giving up your US citizenship with full intent. If you are considering renunciation, take professional advice to ensure you understand the full legal ramifications, as this process is irreversible.

List of countries allowing or banning dual citizenship

Note that nations regularly amend their laws, as such this list is subject to change. You are advised to take legal guidance on your circumstances to ensure you are working to the most up to date rules.

Countries which permit dual citizenship

The following countries permit dual citizenship, subject to national laws and rules and restrictions on eligibility. Note that status is subject to change and you are advised to take advice on your circumstances for the most up to date position:

  • Australia
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Bangladesh
  • Canada
  • Czech Republic
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • United States
  • United Kingdom
  • Switzerland
  • South Korea
  • South Africa
  • Egypt
  • Greece
  • France
  • Finland
  • Germany
  • Iraq
  • Italy
  • Israel
  • Ireland
  • Poland
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Kenya
  • Mexico
  • Sweden
  • Slovenia
  • Syria
  • Serbia
  • Armenia
  • Thailand
  • Lebanon
  • Malta
  • Spain
  • Tonga
  • Philippines
  • Sierra Leone
  • Sri Lanka
  • Pakistan
  • Portugal
  • Turkey

Countries where Dual Citizenship is not permitted:

Note that status is subject to change and you are advised to take advice on your circumstances for the most up to date position:

  • Andorra
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Burma
  • Bahrain
  • Botswana
  • Japan
  • China
  • Fiji
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Ecuador
  • Estonia
  • Iran
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Brunei
  • Japan
  • Peru
  • Kuwait
  • Kazakhstan
  • Chile
  • Kiribati
  • Korea
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Ecuador
  • Lithuania
  • Solomon Islands
  • Fiji
  • Malaysia
  • Mauritius
  • Netherlands
  • United Arab Emirates (UAE)
  • Romania
  • Nepal
  • Venezuela
  • Norway
  • Zimbabwe
  • Mauritius
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal

This article does not constitute direct legal advice and is for informational purposes only.

Do you have a query about dual citizenship with the US? Book a fixed fee telephone consultation with a US immigration attorney >>

Recent Articles & Videos