Which are the E Visa Treaty Countries?

Which are the E Visa Treaty Countries?

E Visa Treaty Countries List 

E visas are arguably one of the most attractive US visa classifications. They offer holders the potential to renew their status indefinitely, and the opportunity for dependants to join them in the United States.

But the qualifying criteria for the E-1 visa and E-2 visa are necessarily strict, and it will be important to ensure you meet these before you embark on the application process.

E Visa Treaty Countries

One of the first requirements when assessing eligibility for the E-2 Treaty Trader and E-1 Treaty Investor visa categories is that the visa applicant must be a national of a country designated by Congress as eligible for participation in the relevant nonimmigrant visa program, or of one of the E Visa Treaty Countries.

E Visa Treaty Countries have a treaty of commerce in place with the United States which among other benefits, enable reciprocal nonimmigrant status for citizens.

The E visa category is only available to US-registered companies that are at least 50% owned and controlled by a foreign corporation or individual that is a national of a treaty country. In addition, the individuals that seek entry in E visa status must also be nationals of the treaty country.

Looking specifically at each E visa, the requirements are that:

  • E2 Treaty Investor:
    A foreign company may be eligible for E-2 company registration if the company has invested a substantial amount of money in a new or existing US business. The owners of the foreign country must be nationals of a country that has a treaty of commerce with the United States or a country designated by Congress as eligible for participation in the E-2 non-immigrant visa program. Below are some key requirements a company must fulfil to apply for an E-2 company registration.
  • E-1 Treaty Trader visa:
    A company is eligible for E-1 company registration if it is engaged in trade with the United States and its owners are nationals of a country that has a treaty of commerce and navigation with the US (a “treaty country”). Below are some key requirements a company must fulfil to apply for an E-1 company registration.

Which are the E Visa Treaty Countries?

Countries with E-1 and E-2 Treaties Countries with E-2 Treaties Countries with E-1 Treaties:
Argentina Albania Brunei
Australia Armenia Greece
Austria Azerbaijan Israel
Belgium Bahrain
Bolivia Bangladesh
Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria
Canada Cameroon
Chile Congo (Brazzaville)
China (Taiwan) Congo (Kinshasa)
Colombia Czech Republic
Costa Rica Ecuador
Croatia Egypt
Denmark Georgia
Estonia Grenada
Ethiopia Jamaica
Finland Kazakhstan
France Kyrgyzstan
Germany Lithuania
Honduras Moldova
Iran Mongolia
Ireland Morocco
Italy Panama
Japan Poland
Jordan Romania
Korea (South) Senegal
Kosovo Slovak Republic
Latvia Sri Lanka
Liberia Trinidad & Tobago
Luxembourg Tunisia
Macedonia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of (FRY) Ukraine
United Kingdom

The list is correct as at January 2018. For the most up to date version, and to check whether specific conditions apply to your country (for example relating to residence in overseas territories), you should consult the USCIS website or contact us for advice on your specific circumstances.

Do you have a question about E Visa Treaty Countries?>

Length of stay

Over and above the treaty of commerce requirement, other factors will be dictated by your country of origin, such as the maximum duration of the E-2 visa.

For example – for UK citizens, the maximum is five years, but for Mexican nationals it is 12 months. In such instances, it is advisable to take guidance on any mid to longer-term entry plans you may have.

Looking specifically at the treaty between the US and UK, E-2 classification requires that UK citizens reside in the UK at the time they apply for their E-2 visa. You will need to evidence that UK residence has been maintained through, for example maintaining a job and home in the UK.

If you pass the Treaty Country requirement

If you do qualify as a national of a treaty country, you can move on to consider the remaining visa application criteria for the E-1 visa and E-2 visa.

If you are not a national of a Treaty Country

If you are not a national of treaty country, you may wish to explore alternative entry options, depending on the nature and required duration of stay, and the prevailing US immigration rules at the time of your application. Take advice on your particular circumstances.

NNU Immigration can advise on the E Visa Treaty Countries

NNU Immigration specialize in assisting individuals with E visa applications.

We can advise on all aspects of the E-1 and E-2 visa, from assessing eligibility, to support with compiling your petition and all required supporting documentation. We can also provide guidance and consideration of alternative US entry routes where required.

If you have a question about an E visa application, contact NNU Immigration and speak with one of our attorneys.

This article does not constitute direct legal advice and is for informational purposes only.

Recent Articles & Videos

2018-01-17T12:31:37+00:00 January 8, 2018|E1 Visa, E2 Visa|